Mississippi’s Senate President Pro Tem Headlines Top Supporters for Kasich

Fifteen prominent Republican leaders in Mississippi have today joined Senator Trent Lott, Congressman Gregg Harper and former Kirk Fordice Chief of Staff Andy Taggart in announcing their support for Ohio Governor John Kasich.

“Republicans in Mississippi recognize the importance of balancing the federal budget and rebuilding our national defense,” said Congressman Harper. “No one else has a record on those issues that can match Governor Kasich’s.  Governor Kasich will balance our nation’s budget and strengthen our national defense. We know he will do it, because he’s done it before. As Republicans hear about  Governor Kasich’s record, more and more leaders recognize that he is the best candidate to lead our country.”

The following Mississippi Republican leaders are joining the Kasich team:

Senate President Pro Tem Giles Ward (Winston, Leake and Neshoba Counties)

Sen. Josh Harkins (Rankin and Madison Counties)

Sen. Brice Wiggins (Jackson County)

Ridgeland Mayor Pro Tem Chuck Gautier (City of Ridgeland)

Former Fordice Chief of Staff and Former Harrison County State House Member Mark Garriga (Madison County)

Jones County GOP Chairman Lew Yoder

Lafayette County GOP Chairman Geoffrey Yoste

Former State GOP Chairman Billy Powell (Rankin and Madison Counties)

Madison County Superintendent of Education Ronnie McGehee

Northern District Transportation Commissioner Mike Tagert

Rankin County GOP Chairman Gary Harkins

Hinds County GOP Chairman Pete Perry

Rankin County Chancery Clerk Larry Swales

Jill Ford – Founder of The Inherit Movement

LTC (ret.) Bill Hollowell – Former Holly Springs Police Chief